Color me excited!

The open concept space is now officially painted! We found an awesome company to work with and they were very accommodating with working with us from afar. They got done the majority of the work in just a day, which I can’t even fathom (but I’m definitely not mad at it). From the pictures, I can tell it made a HUGE change to the space. The red doors alone being gone is so refreshing. I’ll take some good photos once we get back and throw some before and afters on here.

As for the upstairs rooms and smaller spaces, we’re planning on tackling those on our own. I’m sure we’ll paint the master bedroom as soon as we get back into town, and then gradually get to the other two. The master bedroom is one of the smallest masters we’ve had in the course of our various rental homes, so I definitely want to keep it light and open. I’m between a few different off-white options below. The photo on the right is from beckiowens.com featuring a room I’m using as inspiration for the master.

Top left: BM Swiss Coffee, bottom left: BM White Dove, right: SW Anew Gray at 25%

I know what you’re thinking: all of these colors so far have been pretty neutral. You’re right, it’s true. I feel a little boring because of it but these clean, airy neutrals just make me so happy! To shake things up a bit, I’m definitely going to add a couple of fun bold rooms to the house.

The first will be the guest bedroom. In one of my plunges down the Pinterest paint rabbit hole, I noticed an amazing peacock color in a guest bedroom, and I couldn’t get it out of my head. So now I’m leaning toward this fantastic deep teal for the guest room:

northseagreen

Benjamin Moore North Sea Green

I’m picturing that with some nice white (of course) bedding and some pinks, oranges, and classic blues as accent colors. I never put color in my decor and I need to stop being so shy about it. We’ll see how it turns out!

My last venture into color will be in our downstairs office. I don’t know why, but this office space might be my favorite room in the house. It’s the cutest little nook in the very front of the house with giant windows, just begging for a good strong color on the walls. The below photo is NOT our office, but is actually a similar-looking setup. For this room, I’m eyeing Sherwin Williams Indigo Batik:

It’s a classic deep blue that’s muted enough to blend with blue/green of the open concept living/dining room, but has enough color to stand on its own. It’ll look great with the old nautical-looking wood and iron desk we already have to go in the office.

So those are my very colorful thoughts! I’m pretty confident in the guest room and office selections, I might even go straight for the gallon of paint without even sampling (CALM DOWN LET’S NOT GET CRAZY, I know).

Can’t wait to share how it comes out!

– L

Leave a Reply

